Tuesday, January 17, 2012

Got to Love GW FAQ

So I was checking out some of GW new FAQs. Just because I have not played in a while does not mean I have no interest. I do have a sizable unpainted Marine force and a hlaf built nid force waiting to see what 6th ed has in store.

I noticed these two items in the Current BRB FAQ:

Q: Can models embarked upon a vehicle use its fire
points to draw line of sight to a unit to use special
rules or wargear (other than shooting)? (p66)
A: No.

Q: Can a model use a psychic power that is not a
Psychic Shooting Attack if it is embarked in a transport
vehicle? (p50)
A: Yes. If the power requires line of sight, this is still
worked out from the vehicle’s fire points (this will
count as one model shooting through that fire point if
the power is used in the Shooting phase).
If the psychic power does not require line of sight and
has a range or an area of effect that is normally
measured from the model using it, these are measured
from the vehicle’s hull, as explained in the Embarking
section on page 66.

Huh, This seems like they are pretty much self contradictor. You can use fire points for non shooting psychic powers that require line of sight but not for wargear or special rules that require line of sight. Seems pretty weak.

1 comment:

  1. Well, you know, laser beams shooting out of your eyeballs is totally different than sticking a meltagun barrel through the fire point.

    Err, maybe not.